Bristol Rovers 1 Imps 1

City were denied victory at Bristol Rovers as a late header from Josh Grant meant the points were shared after Adam Jackson had initially put the Imps ahead.

It was an even start to proceedings at the Memorial Stadium, but the first chance fell to the hosts with Aaron Collins’ strike deflecting off the back of Jackson and away for a corner.

Collins then took aim again after 27 minutes, curling a powerful shot from range just wide of the post.

Rovers’ top scorer last season was certainly their biggest threat, and only a strong stop from Lukas Jensen prevented him from finishing Sam Finley’s deft through ball.

The Imps’ first attempt of the afternoon came from Danny Mandroiu’s mazy run through the middle, with the Irishman drilling a shot wide from 25 yards at the end of it.

With 38 minutes gone Finley almost broke the deadlock for Rovers, but City put their bodies on the line to block his pile driver from the edge of the box.

After the break, Collins had another sight at goal for the Gas but once again his shot flew just wide of target.

The Imps would take the lead after 53 minutes however as Erhahon’s stinging drive was parried by Matt Cox, with Jackson pouncing on the rebound to put City ahead.

Lasse Sorensen was then denied quickly after as his run from deep took him all the way into the 18-yard box, with the Dane forcing Cox into a save.

Cox was forced into action again after 69 minutes when Jack Burroughs’ cross was met by Mandroiu, but Rovers’ shot-stopper was down quickly to hold onto his improvised effort.

Rovers pushed forward in search of an equaliser late in the game, with Jensen making a magnificent one-handed stop to deny John Marquis.

But the Imps couldn't quite hold onto the three points with Josh Grant nodding home the resulting corner.

Bristol Rovers: Matt Cox, Jack Hunt, James Wilson, Tristan Crama, George Friend (John Marquis 68’), Ryan Woods (Harvey Vale 68’), Sam Finley (Antony Evans 46’), Lamare Bogarde (Josh Grant 76’), Luke Thomas, Aaron Collins, Jevani Brown (Scott Sinclair 75’).

Imps: Lukas Jensen, Lasse Sorenson, Sean Roughan, Adam Jackson, Alex Mitchell, Jack Burroughs (Jaden Brown 81’), Ethan Erhahon, Ethan Hamilton, Ali Smith, Danny Mandroiu (Ted Bishop 72’), Reeco Hackett (Jovon Makama 82’).

Referee: Lewis Smith.

Attendance: 7,674