Carabao Cup and EFL Trophy draw details

As part of the EFL’s fixture release day on Thursday 22 June, the round one draw for the Carabao Cup and group stage draw for the EFL Trophy will take place live on Sky Sports.

The fixture lists across the Sky Bet Championship, League One and League Two will be revealed at 9am, with the cup draws completing the early-season schedule later in the day.

Carabao Cup

The Carabao Cup round one draw will take place live on Sky Sports at 2:30pm on Thursday 22 June.

A total of 36 fixtures will be drawn for round one, with all 72 EFL Clubs, including newly-promoted Notts County and Wrexham in the draw.

The 12 Premier League clubs not competing in Europe will join in round two, with the other eight Premier League clubs starting in round three.

The round one draw will see teams drawn in northern and southern sections, with matches scheduled to take place week commencing 7 August.

EFL Trophy

The EFL Trophy group stage draw will take place live on Sky Sports at 11:30am on Thursday 22 June.

The 16 Invited U21 teams will be placed into their respective northern and southern section groups, with the 48 EFL clubs placed into predetermined groups prior to the draw. Consideration has been given to ensure travel time is minimised and recovery time is maximised for players. 

All EFL clubs will play two of their three matches at home in the group stages, with U21 teams away from home in all three fixtures.

The confirmed invited U21 teams are as follows:


Aston Villa

Brighton & Hove Albion


Crystal Palace



Leicester City


Manchester City

Manchester United

Newcastle United

Nottingham Forest

Tottenham Hotspur

West Ham United


The respective draws will be confirmed on EFL Twitter (@Carabao_Cup / @TheEFLTrophy) and

Click HERE for City's online store.