Wigan Athletic Imps

The Imps recorded a fourth match unbeaten following a tightly-contested draw at Wigan Athletic.

City had the first shot on target in the ninth minute as Ethan Hamilton received the ball on the edge of the area following some neat build up play before sending a driven effort straight into the gloves of Sam Tickle.

Jonny Smith then almost caught Lukas Jensen out two minutes later when his curling corner almost found its way in, although the goalkeeper managed to adjust his feet to punch the ball clear of the goalline.

It was a cautious approach from both sides following this as neither team managed to open up any dangerous opportunities in the wet and windy conditions at the DW Stadium.

Wigan threatened on the break shortly before half-time as Stephen Humphrys’ crossfield ball was helped on to Smith in space who took a touch before skying his effort well over the crossbar.

The Imps started the second 45 on the front foot and created two good chances as Burroughs was found on the edge of the box who blasted over before TJ Eyoma couldn’t convert from a goalmouth scramble following a corner into the area.

Michael Skubala’s side continued to have the edge after the break but couldn’t quite create a clear opening to put themselves ahead going into the final 15 minutes.

Humphrys looked to spark his side into life in the 78th minute after he wriggled his way between some defenders to send an angled shot at goal but he couldn’t find a way past the last-ditch defending.

Wigan thought they had broken the deadlock in the 84th minute as Jensen spilt Jordan Jones’ cross after he was under pressure by Charlie Wyke which left Chris Sze to smash home, although the referee deemed there to be a foul on the goalkeeper.

Shaun Maloney’s side threw bodies forward in the closing stages in search of a late winner but the Imps stood firm to see out the clean sheet and a hard-fought point on the road.

Wigan: Sam Tickle, Kell Watts (Steven Sessegnon 64’), Liam Morrison, Charlie Hughes, Sean Clare, Stephen Humphrys (Charlie Wyke 82’), Jordan Jones, Jonny Smith (Callum McManaman 58’), Callum Lang © (Chris Sze 82’), Scott Smith, Baba Adeeko. Subs (not used): Ben Amos, Steven Sessegnon, Liam Shaw, Josh Magennis.

Imps: Lukas Jensen, Lasse Sorensen, TJ Eyoma, Adam Jackson, Paudie O’Connor, Jack Burroughs (Sean Roughan 85’), Ethan Erhahon, Ethan Hamilton, Ali Smith (Ted Bishop 61’), Danny Mandroiu (Dylan Duffy 74’), Jovon Makama (Jack Vale 61’). Subs (not used): Jordan Wright, Dylan Duffy, Sean Roughan, Alex Mitchell, Mide Shodipo.

Referee: Charles Breakspear.

Attendance: 8,838 (662 away).