Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Academy News

Imps U18 5 Walsall U18 0

20 November 2023

Lincoln City U18s defeated Walsall U18s to progress into the third round of the FA Youth Cup following a dominant display at the LNER Stadium.

Bola Okewoye created a number of early chances for the Imps following great work down the right-hand side with Bailey Adamson unable to get enough power on his shot to beat Jenson Kilroy.

The Saddlers responded with a curling effort from Charlie Wragg which was denied by a fingertip save from Isaac Allan.

In the 25th minute, City captain MJ Kamson-Kamara cleared a shot from Wragg off the line after the striker pounced on a defensive mixup.

Okewoye’s persistence paid off in the 30th minute as he latched on to a loose ball and skipped past the goalkeeper before finishing into the empty net to open the scoring for the Imps.

Ash Foyle’s side doubled their lead in the 43rd minute after a brilliant pass by Zane Okoro released Noah Simmons down the left-hand side who crossed the ball to the waiting Russell Berko who made no mistake in finishing.

The young Imps continued to attack the Walsall goal until the referee blew for halftime at 2-0.

Within a minute of the start of the second half, City made it three. Okoro tricked his way into the box and cooly slotted the ball past Kilroy into the bottom right corner.

Berko caused more issues for the Saddlers’ defence by carrying the ball from the halfway line into the box and squaring to Adamson whose shot was well blocked.

In the 68th minute, substitute Denny Oliver found Louis Nesbitt free in the box and his left-footed strike beat Kilroy to make it 4-0 to the Imps.

Adamson scored his first and City’s fifth goal of the evening in the 84th minute after the striker dribbled past a number of Walsall defenders and finished into the bottom corner.

After two minutes of added time, the referee blew the full-time whistle to send the Imps into the third round of the FA Youth Cup.

Goals: Okewoye (30’), Berko (43’), Okoro (46’), Nesbitt (68’), Adamson (84’).

Imps: Isaac Allan, Charlie Carlisle, Noah Simmons, Kye Perkins (Dakara Wifa, 85’), MJ Kamson-Kamara, Charlie Parks (Jersey Lopez, 76’), Russell Berko, Louis Nesbitt, Bailey Adamson, Bola Okewoye (Denny Oliver, 64’), Zane Okoro. Subs (not used): Kelly Fombad, Jayden Taylor, Tom Nesbitt, Daniel Vanderpuye.

Referee: Waqar Ahmad.

Click here to sign up for the Imps Lottery and help fund City's Academy as they search for the stars of the future

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account