Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Reports

Imps 3 Shrewsbury Town 0

27 February 2024

Match Reports

Imps 3 Shrewsbury Town 0

27 February 2024

Sponsored by

City turned on the style against Shrewsbury Town as strikes from Ted Bishop, Reeco Hackett and Lasse Sorensen helped secure a 3-0 victory.

The Imps took the lead in the sixth minute following a positive start to the game. Reeco Hackett’s corner wasn’t dealt with by Shrewsbury, as the City No. 7 was then allowed time to send a deflected effort at goal which fell for Ted Bishop to stroke home from a few yards out.

Michael Skubala’s side continued to play with confidence and almost doubled their advantage in the 17th minute as Lasse Sorensen whipped in a teasing delivery towards Paudie O’Connor and Joe Taylor who couldn’t find the required contact.

City were then awarded a 25-yard free-kick in the 20th minute which Bishop curled over the wall and narrowly past the top left corner as the Imps pressed for a second.

Shrewsbury began to grow into the game from the midpoint of the half but were unable to create any openings to threaten Lukas Jensen’s goal from the two corners they were awarded.

Ben House had a decent opportunity at the end of the half as he won possession high up the pitch, but he blazed his effort over the crossbar leaving the Imps to take a one-goal lead into the break.

City started the second half well and went close to adding a second when Ethan Erhahon threaded a neat pass through to Hackett in the box who turned towards goal before fizzing one just wide of the far post.

Hackett did get his goal a few minutes later following some clever build up play as Erhahon played through Taylor who backheeled it for City’s No. 7 to lash the ball high into the net.

Harry Burgoyne then pulled off a double save shortly after the restart as he first denied Hackett’s first time effort following a cross from the right before pushing Taylor’s shot on the spin around the post.

City were then awarded a penalty in the 67th minute after Ben House was brought down by Burgoyne following a loose backpass from a Shrewsbury defender.

Bishop stepped up for the spot kick but saw his effort towards the bottom left corner tipped onto the post. The ball was soon worked out to the right wing though as Lasse Sorensen’s curling delivery sailed over the goalie and into the net.

The Imps continued to control the match in the closing stages and limited the visitors to very few chances on their way to securing a fifth win from their last five matches.

Imps: Lukas Jensen, Paudie O’Connor ©, Alex Mitchell, Sean Roughan, Ethan Erhahon, Conor McGrandles, Ted Bishop (Danny Mandroiu 73’), Lasse Sorensen (TJ Eyoma 82’), Reeco Hackett (Dylan Duffy 82’), Joe Taylor (Jovon Makama 86’), Ben House (Jack Moylan 73’). Subs (not used): Jordan Wright, Freddie Draper.

Goals: Bishop (6’), Hackett (59’), Sorensen (67’).

Shrewsbury: Harry Burgoyne, Carl Winchester, Morgan Feeney, Chey Dunkley ©, Jason Sraha, Jordan Shipley, Elliott Bennett (Jack Hinchy 46’ ((Roland Idowu 85’))), Nohan Kenneh (Taylor Perry 46’), Tom Bloxham, Tom Bayliss, Ryan Bowman. Subs (not used): Joe Anderson, Dan Udoh, Tunmise Sobowale, Aiden O’Brien. 

Attendance: 6,842 (218 away).

Referee: Marc Edwards.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account