Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Imps 0 Wycombe 0

10 December 2022

Club News

Imps 0 Wycombe 0

10 December 2022

Sponsored by

City were made to settle for a goalless draw against Wycombe Wanderers to extend their unbeaten home league run to 10 games.

Ahead of the game both sides paused to remember the late Johnny Johnson who was the last remaining Dambuster from the famous World War Two raid.

The game had an even start, with Wycombe’s first effort at goal coming in the sixth minute as Jordan Obita’s corner was met by Ryan Tafazolli who could only send a soft header straight to Carl Rushworth.

City won a corner of their own shortly later which was delivered towards the back post by Charles Vernam to Ben House who couldn’t quite find the finishing touch to put his side ahead.

Vernam was involved again in the 15th minute when he picked up the ball midway inside Wycombe’s half before turning towards goal and unleashing a curling effort which narrowly missed the top left corner.

City’s next effort at goal came in the 29th minute when Vernam once again found space to drive at goal before striking a low effort from outside the area which was comfortable for Max Stryjek.

The Chairboys almost took the lead shortly before the interval after Garath McCleary’s clever pass through to Anis Mehmeti was followed by a low cross into the box which was almost diverted in by Jamie Robson.

Gareth Ainsworth’s side started the second period brightly and could’ve gone ahead after a goalmouth scramble which saw Brandon Hanlan strike the post from close range.

Both sides had even spells of possession as the half went on in what was a battling performance from both sides.

Danny Mandroiu linked up well with Matty Virtue in the 71st minute to allow the midfielder to take aim from outside the box, but his right-footed shot was always rising over the crossbar - leaving the sides to settle for a point apiece.

City: Carl Rushworth, Regan Poole ©, Adam Jackson, Max Sanders, Charles Vernam (Danny Mandroiu 68’), Paudie O’Connor, Joe Walsh, Jamie Robson, Ben House (Tom Hopper 75’), Matty Virtue, Jack Diamond. Subs (not used): Jordon Garrick, Lasse Sorensen, TJ Eyoma, Sean Roughan, Jacob Davenport.

Wycombe: Max Stryjek, Jack Grimmer, Ryan Tafazolli, David Wheeler, Lewis Wing, Anis Mehmeti (Nick Freeman 80’), Garath McCleary (Sullay Kaikai 77’), Brandon Hanlan (Sam Vokes 66’), Alfie Mawson ©, Jordan Obita, Josh Scowen. Subs (not used): Tyla Dickinson, Daryl Horgan, Jack Wakely, Ali Al-Hamadi.

Referee: Thomas Kirk.

Attendance: 7,536 (239 away).

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account