Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Reports

Imps 0 Charlton Athletic 0

8 October 2022

Sponsored by

The Imps extended their unbeaten home league run with a tightly-contested 0-0 draw against Charlton Athletic in Sky Bet League One.

A minute's applause preceded the fixture for the late Dave Smith, with both sides joining together to remember the former City player.

The first 15 minutes was fairly quiet for both sides who were battling hard to gain a foothold in the match.

The Imps won a corner midway through the first-half which saw Charlton mount a counter-attack with four players against one, but Carl Rushworth was quick off his line to meet the through ball and clear back upfield.

In the 30th minute, Miles Leaburn found space in behind the City defence to strike low towards goal and force Rushworth into a save which he initially spilled towards the goalline before recovering once again.

During a break in the match in the 36th minute, the referee Robert Lewis had to be replaced by Abbas Khan following an injury whilst keeping up with play.

In first-half injury time a long throw-in from Sean Roughan made its way through Danny Mandroiu whose low first-time effort from just inside the box was palmed around the post by Joe Wollacott.

Shortly after the break the visitors found space in the final third to allow Jesurun Rak-Sakyi to float an inviting cross towards Charlie Kirk at the back post who placed his downward header wide of the mark.

Charlton threatened again in the 66th minute through Mandela Egbo who got the better of Sean Roughan before firing a fierce delivery across goal and into Rushworth’s gloves.

The Imps went close to breaking the deadlock in the 72nd minute when Jordon Garrick laid the ball off to Virtue on the right, whose powerful delivery towards the near post was headed narrowly wide by a Charlton defender - leaving the sides to settle for a point each.

City: Carl Rushworth, Regan Poole ©, Adam Jackson, Max Sanders (Tashan Oakley-Boothe 79’), Paudie O’Connor, Ben House, Danny Mandroiu (Jordon Garrick 63’), TJ Eyoma, Sean Roughan (Jamie Robson 69’), Matty Virtue, Jack Diamond. Subs (not used): Jordan Wright, Charles Vernam, Lasse Sorensen. 

Charlton: Joe Wollacott, Steven Sessegnon (Sean Clare 76’), George Dobson (Conor McGrandles 88’), Eoghan O’Connell, Jayden Stockley ©, Charlie Kirk (Corey Blackett-Taylor 76’), Jesurun Rak-Sakyi, (Jack Payne 90+4’), Mandela Egbo, Scott Fraser, Ryan Inniss, Miles Leaburn. Subs (not used): Craig MacGillivray, Terrell Thomas, Albie Morgan.

Referee: Robert Lewis (Abbas Khan 36’).

Attendance: 8,160 (658 away).

Advertisement block