Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

City will be ball No.12 in Carabao Cup draw

10 August 2022

Sponsored by

City will be ball No.12 in the northern section of the Carabao Cup second round draw on Wednesday night.

The Imps booked their place in the second round with an impressive 3-0 win at Doncaster Rovers on Tuesday, and will find out their next opponents on Wednesday night.

The draw will take place live on Sky Sports following the conclusion of the Sheffield Wednesday v Sunderland fixture.

Sky’s new Carabao Cup presenter for 2022/23, Mark Chapman, will host the draw with former Owls’ striker Clinton Morrison and Sunderland hero Michael Gray selecting the ties.  

The 13 Premier League Clubs not competing in European competitions enter the cup in round two alongside Burnley and Watford from the Sky Bet Championship.

The Carabao Cup remains regionalised in the early rounds with the draw split into a southern and northern section until round three.  


1 Aston Villa 
2 Barrow 
3 Bolton Wanderers 
4 Bradford City
5 Burnley
6 Derby County
7 Everton 
8 Fleetwood Town 
9 Grimsby Town 
10 Leeds United 
11 Leicester City 
12 Lincoln City 
13 Morecambe 
14 Newcastle United 
15 Nottingham Forest 
16 Preston North End 
17 Rochdale 
18 Shrewsbury Town 
19 Stockport County 
20 Tranmere Rovers 
21 Wolverhampton Wanderers 
22 Blackburn Rovers or Hartlepool United 
23 Middlesbrough or Barnsley
24 Port Vale or Rotherham United 
25 Sheffield Wednesday or Sunderland
26 West Bromwich Albion or Sheffield United


1 AFC Bournemouth
2 Brentford
3 Brighton & Hove Albion 
4 Cambridge United
5 Charlton Athletic 
6 Colchester United
7 Crawley Town
8 Crystal Palace 
9 Exeter City 
10 Forest Green Rovers
11 Fulham
12 Gillingham
13 Milton Keynes Dons
14 Newport County
15 Norwich City 
16 Oxford United
17 Portsmouth
18 Southampton
19 Stevenage
20 Walsall 
21 Watford 
22 Wycombe Wanderers 
23 Coventry City or Bristol City 
24 Plymouth Argyle or Peterborough United 

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account