Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Imps Nominated For Emirates FA Cup Giant-Killing Award

10 April 2017

Sponsored by

The Football Association has today announced the nominees for this season’s Emirates FA Cup Giant-Killing Award.

Lincoln City, Millwall, Sutton United and Stourbridge have all been nominated for the award following their heroics in securing famous victories against teams from a higher division. 

We have secured our nomination for our 1-0 victory against Premier League Burnley at Turf Moor, which saw us make history in becoming the first non-League team to make the Quarter-Final stage since 1914.

League One Millwall grabbed the headlines as they defeated three top flight teams to secure a place in the Quarter-Finals.  Their last gasp 1-0 victory against Premier League champions Leicester City was the most memorable victory in their run.

The National League’s Sutton United received plaudits nationwide as they reached the Fifth Round for the first time, defeating high flying Championship side Leeds United 1-0 at Gander Green Lane.

Northern Premier League side Stourbridge entered the competition in the First Round Qualifying, winning five games to reach the Third Round for the first time. Their 1-0 victory against Northampton Town - who sat 89 places above them - secured their place in the competition’s history books.

The winner will be decided by fans in a nationwide online vote on  The award will be presented at the Emirates FA Cup Final by Ronnie Radford, scorer of one of the most memorable giant-killing goals for Hereford United against Newcastle United in 1972.

Andy Ambler, The FA’s head of professional game relations said: “This has been a historic season in the Emirates FA Cup and producing a shortlist of giant-killing nominees was particularly difficult, such were the number of eye catching results. In their victories against higher opposition, all four clubs have demonstrated exactly what makes The Emirates FA Cup so special and why it remains the most loved and revered domestic cup competition worldwide.”

Fans have until midnight on Wednesday 10 May  to vote and should do so by visiting  The winner will be announced ahead of this season’s Emirates FA Cup Final.

Advertisement block